By: John Wickham

Really what I would love to happen for the Falcons is that they stay put and either DE Jadeveon Clowney or OLB Khalil Mack fall into their lap and they race to the podium to hand in their card. I think both will most likely be picked before our spot though. I have the Falcons big board looking something like this:

1. DE, Jadeveon Clowney, South Carolina
2. OLB, Khalil Mack, Buffalo
3. OT, Greg Robinson, Auburn
4. OT, Jake Matthews, Texas A&M
5. OT, Taylor Lewan, Michigan
6. OLB, Anthony Barr, UCLA
7. OT, Zach Martin, Notre Dame
8. FS, Ha Ha Clinton-Dix, Alabama
9. TE, Eric Ebron, UNC

So what I wish would happen is that the Falcons would trade down to in the area of 10-12 and pick up the other team’s 2nd/3rd round pick and get their 4th rounder as well. And for me, I would take OT Zach Martin at the pick I traded down for so pick 10-12. Then I would use my 2nd round pick and probably my own 4th round pick to move up and take the best available pass rusher. According to the NFL Draft trade chart the Falcons 2nd round pick is worth 530 points and the 4th round pick is worth 104 points. That should get the Falcons to the 25th pick in the 1st round and would be a difference of about 86 points and the point differential would lessen the later they decided to trade back. Guys like Jeremiah Attaochu, Dee Ford, Kony Ealy, and Demarcus Lawrence come to mind for the pass rusher. If the Falcons believed that one of theses guys will make it to their 2nd round pick, 37th overall, then sure they could sit back and take whichever one was available, but I think we need to go out and get the guy we want. That would still leave us with the 2nd/3rd round we picked up in the trade back and the Falcons original 3rd rounder, along with the other teams 4th rounder and with the 4th round compensatory pick. The Falcons could still get a FS, TE, RB, LB, WR, OL, FB with their remaining picks.

But more than likely the Falcons will not trade down with their 6th overall pick. In Thomas Dimitroff’s previous drafts he has not really done so. I think it is more likely we see a trade up than a trade down. It doesn’t necessarily have to be at the beginning of the 1st round. I see it more likely happening with our 2nd round pick into the late 1st round and get a guy that we either really like or that has fallen.