By: John Wickham

I cannot tell you how disappointing it was to see the Braves two highest paid players struggle as badly as Dan Uggla and B.J. Upton did last season. With Dan we have seen it since he became a Brave but that does not mean it hurts any less. And while his younger brother was able to carry the Braves offense in spurts, B.J. was swatting at flies. I could go through all the excuses for both of them but that does not make it any better. With a new season come new expectations.

I don’t expect to see a .300 avg with 30 HRs and 100 RBI from them. But something like a .240 avg with 20-25 HRs and 70-80 RBI, I assume the Braves would welcome that. I believe that if those two can get those numbers and everyone else comes close to what they did last season the Braves would have a real good chance at not only making the playoffs but a shot at the World Series.

Dan has had plenty of time to adjust to his eye surgery and hopefully he can see the breaking ball. B.J. has made some adjustments to his swing. He has tried to get simpler. With any luck the changes will happen instantaneously but I don’t think it will. As long as we are not waiting till August, I will have faith in them.