Paul Worrilow

By: John Wickham

You know what? I have no idea. I am not a scout and have really no clue how he will develop. But I think he is a playmaker. He has back to back 19 tackle games. The only other Atlanta Falcons player to have more than 15 tackles in back to back games was Jessie “The Hammer” Tuggle. Do I think he will be able to have a career like fellow undrafted free agent MLB Jesse Tuggle, I do not know. They are both of similar size. Paul is 6’1” 235lbs while Jesse was 5’11” and 230lbs when he played. Both played at Division II schools. Both were undrafted free agents signed by the Atlanta Falcons.

A guy that I think he profiles similarly to is a fellow NFC South player in Luke Kuechly. Luke is 2 inches taller than Paul but both have similar combine numbers. Both ran 4.59 in the 40-yard dash. Both had broad jumps over 10ft. Both did over 25 reps on the bench press. Both have vertical jumps over 34 inches. I think Luke is more polished than Paul is right now but that doesn’t mean that Paul can’t get there. Both of these guys make plays for their defense.

I know people talk about his tackles being 4-5 yards downfield. My answer to you is that at least he is making the tackle. And football is a team sport. The guys in front of him need to make plays as well. With Sean Weatherspoon coming back there was a chance that Paul could be sent to the bench but for the moment it seems that Paul Worrilow has done enough to start opposite him in the teams nickel sets. And what he does from there is up to him. If he continues racking up 19 tackles a game, I think it would be safe to say that he would have locked up a starting spot.