By: John Wickham

Okay, over the last few days I have released several different mocks. I think most of the picks have been the same. I think it is because I like those guys and think they have a chance to make an impact for the Falcons and are also good value at the spots taken. So now it is time to reveal which one I liked the most. I think I liked all of them but I did not like them all the same. These were my top 4:

A)
Round 2 Pick 8 (TENN): Tyler Eifert, TE, Notre Dame
Round 2 Pick 28: Arthur Brown, OLB, Kansas State
Round 3 Pick 5 (PHI): Cornellius Carradine, DE, Florida State
Round 3 Pick 8 (TENN): Jordan Poyer, CB, Oregon State
Round 3 Pick 30: Brandon Williams, DT, Missouri Southern State
Round 4 Pick 30: Nico Johnson, ILB, Alabama
Round 4 Pick 36 (COMP): Sean Porter, OLB, Texas A&M
Round 5 Pick 30: Chris Faulk, OT, LSU
Round 6 Pick 30: Reid Fragel, OT, Ohio State
Round 7 Pick 30: P.J. Lonergan, C, LSU
Round 7 Pick 37 (COMP): Marquess Wilson, WR, Washington State
Round 7 Pick 38 (COMP): Branden Smith, CB, Georgia
Round 7 Pick 43 (COMP): Knile Davis, RB, Arkansas

This one I liked because I was able to trade down and get more picks and still pick up the best TE. Then I also was able to pick up Carradine who I like a lot. Also I got a couple guys for the OL who can help with depth and create competition. I also like it because at least from a measurable stand point Knile Davis and Marquess Wilson are very impressive and if they get it together and show it on the field the Falcons have found fixtures at RB and a WR opposite of Julio and a replacement from Roddy. Then a big body for the middle and a couple LBs who I believe can push for a serious amount of playing time. I also think Poyer is a solid guy that could come in and either play outside or play the nickel allowing for Robert McClain to move outside.

B)
Round 2 Pick 13 (S.D.): Arthur Brown, OLB, Kansas State
Round 3 Pick 1 (K.C.): John Jenkins, DT, Georgia
Round 3 Pick 14 (S.D.): Darius Slay, CB, Mississippi State
Round 3 Pick 30: Blidi Wreh-Wilson, CB, Connecticut
Round 4 Pick 2 (K.C.): A.J. Klein, ILB, Iowa State
Round 4 Pick 13 (S.D.): Devin Taylor, DE, South Carolina
Round 4 Pick 30: Barrett Jones, C, Alabama
Round 4 Pick 36 (COMP): Keith Pough, OLB, Howard
Round 5 Pick 12 (S.D.): Jordan Hill, DT, Penn State
Round 5 Pick 30: Chris Faulk, OT, LSU
Round 6 Pick 30: Jake Stoneburner, TE, Ohio State
Round 7 Pick 30: Knile Davis, RB, Arkansas
Round 7 Pick 37 (COMP): Marquess Wilson, WR, Washington State
Round 7 Pick 38 (COMP): Quanterus Smith, DE, Western Kentucky
Round 7 Pick 43 (COMP): Joseph Fauria, TE, UCLA

This one I liked because I traded down twice and picked up an impressive LB. Then in the 3rd I got a big nose that has been talked about as a late 1 in the 3rd. Then I got two CBs who should help the secondary out a lot. Then I got a MLB who should push Akeem Dent. Then I got Barrett Jones who can play all over the OL and we all know that Mike Smith likes the cross-training on the OL. Devin Taylor has good size and athleticism but his production was not all that great but that is why he is available in the 4th and I don’t expect him to be the number one option anyway. Another DT picked to help in the rotation. Again another OLB to help with depth and coverage. I got two TEs that I like that have different skill sets and could help more next year than this year but this late in the draft that is what you got to expect. Again I grabbed Knile Davis and Marquess Wilson who hopefully can help the offense out in a couple years. Then I got a DE who if can return healthy this season could find playing time because he is a great pass rusher.

C)
Round 1 Pick 16 (STL): Barkevious Mingo, DE, LSU
Round 3 Pick 10 (NYJ): Cornelius Washington, DE, Georgia
Round 4 Pick 15 (T.B.): A.J. Klein, ILB, Iowa State
Round 4 Pick 29 (T.B.): Montori Hughes, DT, Tennessee-Martin
Round 4 Pick 36 (COMP): Keith Pough, OLB, Howard
Round 5 Pick 8 (NYJ): Terry Hawthorne, CB, Illinois
Round 5 Pick 30: Chris Faulk, OT, LSU
Round 6 Pick 10 (NYJ): Sio Moore, OLB, Connecticut
Round 6 Pick 30: Reid Fragel, OT, Ohio State
Round 7 Pick 12 (T.B.): Gilbert Pena, DT, Ole Miss
Round 7 Pick 30: Micah Hyde, CB, Iowa
Round 7 Pick 37 (COMP): P.J. Lonergan, C, LSU
Round 7 Pick 38 (COMP): Knile Davis, RB, Arkansas
Round 7 Pick 43 (COMP): Joseph Fauria, TE, UCLA

This is the trade up mock. I really liked this one because I got two DEs that I think could be our bookends for the next several years. Then I continued the defensive picks with A.J. Klein who I expect to compete with Dent for playing time and, if not then, special teams. Then I got a huge nose to help stuff the run and an OLB to help in coverage. I finally got a CB in the 5th. Hawthorne is 6 ft and ran in the mid 4.4 range. He might be a guy that is brought along slowly but by the end of the year you are relying on. I got two OTs who should help along the Oline and compete on the practice squad or on gameday. Again selected Knile Davis who in the 7th round could be a steal. Then a big TE to complement Chase Coffman who is more of the receiver type after Tony retires. Hyde is another big corner that could help our team against the bigger WRs we see in our division.

D)
Round 2 Pick 8 (TENN): Desmond Trufant, CB, Washington
Round 2 Pick 21 (CINN): Arthur Brown, OLB, Kansas State
Round 3 Pick 9 (BUF): Cornelius Washington, DE, Georgia
Round 3 Pick 22 (CINN): Brandon Williams, DT, Missouri Southern State
Round 3 Pick 30: Barrett Jones, C, Alabama
Round 4 Pick 2 (K.C.): Jordan Poyer, CB, Oregon State
Round 4 Pick 21 (CINN): A.J. Klein, ILB, Iowa State
Round 4 Pick 30: Travis Kelce, TE, Cincinnati
Round 4 Pick 36 (COMP): Sean Porter, OLB, Texas A&M
Round 5 Pick 30: Chris Faulk, OT, LSU
Round 6 Pick 2 (K.C.): Duke Williams, SS, Nevada
Round 6 Pick 30: Jake Stoneburner, TE, Ohio State
Round 7 Pick 30: Gilbert Pena, DT, Ole Miss
Round 7 Pick 37 (COMP): Knile Davis, RB, Arkansas
Round 7 Pick 38 (COMP): Marquess Wilson, WR, Washington State
Round 7 Pick 43 (COMP): Quanterus Smith, DE, Western Kentucky

I traded several times but was still able to get a lot of players I like. First I got one of the Top 3 CBs. Then a LB, who has the potential to go in the 1st round, at the end of the 2nd. The 3rd round I went all in on trench warfare. I got a big nose and a pass rusher on the defensive side and then a guy who played all over the O-line and played very well at each spot. In the 4th I got some depth in the back 7. I also got two TEs who would have to pass their interviews and background checks before they could even be thought of as Falcons. One in the 4th and then another in the 6th. A Saftey that could get some playing time if our starters can’t stay healthy. I got an OT that I like but needs to keep his weight in check. In the 7th I get another big guy for depth purposes and a WR and RB with talent but issues and then a DE with if healthy might be selected in the 3rd-4th round.

In looking at these drafts I think you can see that I have no problem trading up or trading back. And now it is time to reveal the draft that I like the most:

A)
Round 2 Pick 8 (TENN): Tyler Eifert, TE, Notre Dame
Round 2 Pick 28: Arthur Brown, OLB, Kansas State
Round 3 Pick 5 (PHI): Cornellius Carradine, DE, Florida State
Round 3 Pick 8 (TENN): Jordan Poyer, CB, Oregon State
Round 3 Pick 30: Brandon Williams, DT, Missouri Southern State
Round 4 Pick 30: Nico Johnson, ILB, Alabama
Round 4 Pick 36 (COMP): Sean Porter, OLB, Texas A&M
Round 5 Pick 30: Chris Faulk, OT, LSU
Round 6 Pick 30: Reid Fragel, OT, Ohio State
Round 7 Pick 30: P.J. Lonergan, C, LSU
Round 7 Pick 37 (COMP): Marquess Wilson, WR, Washington State
Round 7 Pick 38 (COMP): Branden Smith, CB, Georgia
Round 7 Pick 43 (COMP): Knile Davis, RB, Arkansas

I liked this one the most because of picking up the best TE and also picking up a premiere pass rusher in the 3rd round. Then I took three LBs who can help this team immediately by creating depth and competition. Then I also picked up a couple guys on the offensive side of the ball with my comp picks that if they pan out, help an already stacked offense get better. I wanted to go with D, the 4th option, but I felt like that was a pipe dream that we would actually end with 16 picks selected and all of those guys in those spots.