By: John Wickham

I am going to have two mock drafts in this post. One being a big trade up. And then another one moving up only a couple spots.

Here is the first with a big trade up. In this one I traded up with STL. I gave up 1,30, 3,30, 4,30 & my 2014 1st round pick and I got 1,16. I did not want to trade my picks from future drafts put first-pick.com only has your 1st round pick from your next two drafts. My goal was to keep my 2nd round pick and I would have traded my 2014 2nd round or 3rd round pick but they only have future 1st round picks. I traded up for a pass rusher because I believe that a pass rusher would help more than a CB or a DE taken at 30th overall. My second trade was with NYJ. I traded 2,28 for 3,10, 4,8, 5,8, & 6,10. I double dipped at DE because I thought that it was good value and Washington is a talented player that could turn a pass rush weakness into a strength by teaming up with Mingo. I then made my third and final trade of the day with TB. I gave up 4,8 for 4,15, 4,29 & 7,12. I selected an ILB instead of a CB because I thought at least one of top guys available would still be there at the end of the 4th round but none made it. So that to me was where I made a mistake but I thought I still made good picks with what was available. I finally got my corner in Hawthorne in the 5th round. He has good size and would become the tallest corner on the roster and he runs pretty well. I got another tall corner in the 7th. If neither of these guys can play right away, I think a signing or trade in training camp could happen. But I feel that with a good pass rush, average corners will look better than they are. I double dipped at tackle again with the same guys as my last mock because I like the guys and I believe they could be really good players in a couple years. I also grabbed two big guys for the middle of the defense because after this season most of our guys are free agents and because we are missing that big nose that can help stuff the run. At the end of the draft with my comp picks I decided to grab some guys on the offense that possible help down the road and if not, no big loss at the end of the draft.

Round 1 Pick 16 (STL): Barkevious Mingo, DE, LSU
Round 3 Pick 10 (NYJ): Cornelius Washington, DE, Georgia
Round 4 Pick 15 (T.B.): A.J. Klein, ILB, Iowa State
Round 4 Pick 29 (T.B.): Montori Hughes, DT, Tennessee-Martin
Round 4 Pick 36 (COMP): Keith Pough, OLB, Howard
Round 5 Pick 8 (NYJ): Terry Hawthorne, CB, Illinois
Round 5 Pick 30: Chris Faulk, OT, LSU
Round 6 Pick 10 (NYJ): Sio Moore, OLB, Connecticut
Round 6 Pick 30: Reid Fragel, OT, Ohio State
Round 7 Pick 12 (T.B.): Gilbert Pena, DT, Ole Miss
Round 7 Pick 30: Micah Hyde, CB, Iowa
Round 7 Pick 37 (COMP): P.J. Lonergan, C, LSU
Round 7 Pick 38 (COMP): Knile Davis, RB, Arkansas
Round 7 Pick 43 (COMP): Joseph Fauria, TE, UCLA

Okay here is draft two with a smaller trade up. I made two trades. First with MINN: I received 1,23 for trading 1,30, 4,30, 5,30 & my 2015 1st Round pick. I did not want to trade my 2015 1st round pick but that was necessary for trading up and keeping my 2nd and 3rd round picks. There trade system is not very good on first-pick.com. It does not hold to the draft trade value chart. In this draft I selected a CB because the top pass rushers were all gone. In the 2nd round I traded my 2,28 pick with CLE to get 3,6, 4,7, 5,6, 5,31. Then I traded 3,6, for 3,21, 4,5, 4,21 with MINN again. I guess because they killed me on the first trade, they felt sorry and gave me some more picks.

So in the 3rd round I tried to help out our pass rush by selecting Washington. Then later in the round I pick up some competition for Dent. In the 4th round I got a big guy in the middle and another corner for depth and possible dime spot. Then I created some depth on offense with a center that can play pretty much every where on the OL. Next an athletic TE in Jordan Reed who can line up in the slot and be our Aaron Hernandez who coincidently is from the same school. Then a RB who adds depth and has a chance to take over in a year or two. Later I added those same two tackles to add depth and then two LBs to add some much needed depth at that position. Another big boy and a WR start my picks in the 7th round. A flyer on my last pick for a guy who dominated against Alabama but did not seem much competition elsewhere and is coming off an ACL injury.

Round 1 Pick 23 (MINN): Desmond Trufant, CB, Washington
Round 3 Pick 21 (MINN): Cornelius Washington, DE, Georgia
Round 3 Pick 30: A.J. Klein, ILB, Iowa State
Round 4 Pick 5 (MINN): Brandon Williams, DT, Missouri Southern State
Round 4 Pick 7 (CLE): B.W. Webb, CB, William & Mary
Round 4 Pick 23 (MINN): Barrett Jones, C, Alabama
Round 4 Pick 30: Jordan Reed, TE, Florida
Round 4 Pick 36 (COMP): Mike Gillislee, RB, Florida
Round 5 Pick 6 (CLE): Etienne Sabino, OLB, Ohio State
Round 5 Pick 31 (CLE): Chris Faulk, OT, LSU
Round 6 Pick 30: Reid Fragel, OT, Ohio State
Round 7 Pick 30: Gilbert Pena, DT, Ole Miss
Round 7 Pick 37 (COMP): T.J. Moe, WR, Missouri
Round 7 Pick 38 (COMP): Bruce Taylor, ILB, Virginia Tech
Round 7 Pick 43 (COMP): Quanterus Smith, DE, Western Kentucky