By: John Wickham

I wanted to write this before he does get traded. I wrote an article earlier how Josh Smith was my favorite Hawks player. But I have no problems with Hawks GM Danny Ferry shopping him around. Josh Smith came out and said that he thinks he is worth a max contract and that is what he is looking for. I do not think he is worth a max contract. The Hawks just got rid of a player with maximum contract that was not worth it in Joe Johnson and I think it would be a bad idea to do it again. The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. So, to me, signing a guy to a max contract who doesn’t put up max contract type numbers would be insane. I am not sure what the Hawks would be getting in a trade because teams know what he wants and that we are not going to pay that so why would a team trade for him when they know they could add him in free agency without giving anything up. I really hope that the Hawks can entice a superstar to play here in Atlanta and keep Josh Smith but in the end I support what this team is doing because they have a solid nucleus to build around in Jeff Teague, Lou Williams (back next year), Al Horford, Kyle Korver and Zaza Pachulia.