By: John Wickham

The Atlanta Hawks are off to a slow start in the 2012 preseason. That is understandable considering they have only 5 returning players. The most notable exception is Joe Johnson, the 6-time All-Star. He was traded in the offseason to the Brooklyn Nets. Most people would assume when you lose a player of Joe’s caliber that the team is going to be worse off. But, to me I would say not so fast my friend. While Joe was talented I do not think he was the player some thought. He was not a guy that could take over a game like Kobe or LeBron but he was getting paid like he was. The Hawks now look to be more of a team that gets out and runs the floor. This transition might take some time and the record might suffer. But I believe that they still have a chance to be a playoff team. So maybe in the short term the Hawks are not as good but the financial relief that got in the deal allows for a much brighter future than the continuous exit in the 1st round of the playoffs.

Image